Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Symphony No. 2: States Of Mind, Opus 87

Item No. BMP7045374
Composed by – written by Teo Aparicio-Barberán
0 reviews
Write a review
Concert Band/Harmonie. product type Score Only. A product from Beriato Music Publishing
I- Logos (reason)II- Pathos (emotion)III- Ethos (credibility)The ancient Greeks believed that music shaped the character of man. In Egyptian temples, music was an essential part of the magical rites to alter the course of nature or to treat illness. And today we know that sound can actually alter matter. The secret of music lies in harmony and mathematics, as many great musicians and experts have always known.One of the most important qualities of music is that it enables the listener to focus his attention inwards instead of on what is around him. It is indisputable that music can inspire emotion. Music leads us into a universe of emotions that are difficult to put into words. In short, music reaches into corners of our soul and thoughts that words cannot reach and makes it possible to more clearly describe these different States of mind.The composer of this symphony also believes that each “musical argument” must be constructed so that it will induce the desired reaction in the listener.Music: more than wordsIn recent times, most orchestral symphonies have been based on a story, a text or something similar so that their composition must be structured accordingly.The intention of this work by Teo Aparicio-Barberán is quite different. The composer describes the three elements of the argument as the only formal structure of the work. Since certain philosophers in world history were able to subdivide grammatical argument, why shouldnt that also be possible for the musical argument?Since ancient times the power of the spoken word has captivated mankind. How can an argument move people and mobilise the masses? Where does the power of words come from today? The answer lays not so much in what people say but in how they say it.Rhetoric is one of the oldest humanist disciplines in Western civilisation. Aristotle, in the 4th century BC, called it the art of persuasion. Indeed, the terms rhetoric and persuasion are mutually interchangeable.More than 2000 years ago Aristotle structured his rhetoric according to the following three elements: the logos, the pathos and the ethos.Logos (words, reason) is the reasoning that gives freedom to the structure of the text by expressing what one wishes to say using specialist terms. With logos we create arguments to receive public approval and to defend our ideas.Pathos, the second element, refers to the effective use of public psychology. Pathos can be considered as the capacity to induce the desired emotional response in the public, by creating an emotional connection with the public so that they accept our message.The third element, ethos (credibility), refers to the character of the speaker and is perhaps the most important of the three elements. Aristotle based his concept of ethos upon his belief that truth and justice will always have the upper hand over anger. He believed that what was true and good was easier to prove and was more persuasive.This second orchestral symphony from the composer from Enguera follows these three parameters of the argument according to Aristotle. Each movement tries to summon a different state of mind in the listener so that the message itself can be better understood and appreciated. Apart from these three general concepts the music is only structured, as Claude Debussy would say, in a “formative way”.The first movement, logos, is based on a scherzo melody that undergoes various changes in rhythm and harmony. The arguments are presented by means of conventional techniques of composition. The second movement, pathos, is characterised by suggestions of sound. It is subdivided into two large parts. The first part is based on a five seven sequence with five sounds that are repeated in different environments, structures and dynamics. The second part, which is largely tonal, brings out more directly the emotional overtones that each argument must have. The third movement, ethos, is a faithful rendition of the composers personality. In this last part, clear rhythmic sequences stand out, there are large dynamic contrasts and lots of tone variation. In addition, and this is quite in keeping with the composers earlier work, the harmony in States of Mind is handled in a manner that is both original and efficient, as a result of which Aparicio-Barberáns message is well understood by the listener.This second symphony by Teo Aparicio-Barberán is devoted to “my dear Henrie Adams, a guiding light in this eternally dark musical world. Thank you for everything.”
Product DetailsScore SampleReviews (0)
Composer: Teo Aparicio-Barberán
Brand/Publisher: Beriato Music Publishing
Instrumentation: Concert Band/Harmonie
Product Type: Score Only
Duration: 0:28:38
Release Date: 2007
ISMN: 9790365213894
Edition Number: 0704.5.374
Do not delete this link
€ 44,00
Only 5 copies remaining Usually ships in 24 hours