Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Concerto in D minor BWV 1052R

Item No. SCHHH505
Composed by – written by Johann Sebastian Bach
0 reviews
Write a review
Violin, String Ensemble and Basso Continuo. product type Score. A product from Edition HH Limited
For nearly 150 years Bach’s ever-popular Concerto in D minor for harpsichord (BWV 1052) has been regarded as a transcription of a much earlier violin concerto. Numerous published reconstructions of this ‘lost original’ have appeared, as well as many modern recordings. However, previous violin reconstructions have proved unsatisfactory from both a musicological and a violinistic standpoint, and some leading scholars have even doubted that the violin was the original solo instrument. This latest reconstruction by late-Baroque specialist and violinist Fabrizio Ammetto, based on careful comparison of five surviving sources and close attention to the idiomatic solo writing (including full-length versions of the cadenzas for the outer movements), convincingly reaffirms the work’s status as a genuine violin concerto. The editor has added figured bass to the score for those who prefer to improvise a keyboard continuo, and the separate parts include a specimen cembalo realization.
Product DetailsReviews (0)
Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Editor: Fabrizio Ammetto
Brand/Publisher: Edition HH Limited
Instrumentation: Violin, String Ensemble and Basso Continuo
Product Type: Score
ISMN: 9790708185307
ISBN: 9781910359952
Edition Number: HH 505
Do not delete this link
€ 38,30
On Order Usually ships in 10 days