Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Cantus Firmus Fantasticus!

Cantata No. 10
Item No. SP1382
Composed by – written by Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranger: Mark Goddard
0 reviews
Write a review
Flexible Ensemble. product type Set. A product from Spartan Press
The opening Chorus from Bachs Cantata 10: "Meine Seel erhebt den Herren". This arrangement requires four instrumentals and either a soprano/mezzo, or a choir singing in unison (upper voices only) or simply a fifth instrumentalist to play the simple Chorale theme. In 1989, in Oxford, a group of four bassoonist friends decided to form The Equal Opportunities Bassoon Quartet", and met regularly to rehearse. The wife of one of the players, Katherine Manville, often generously prepared a sumptuous meal for the quartet and this piece was written so that Katherine, a fine singer, could join in too! The piece was later performed by the fledgling Headington Singers singing the vocal part in unison, accompanied "on the night" by the bassoons. The piece has since been published as Bach for Blonde and Bassoons (SP112), and also, here, arranged for flexible ensemble (SP1382), therefore widening its appeal. This set comprises a full score, a set of various instrumental parts and a single sided part for the singer or further instrumentalist. The latter is also freely downloadable from the website to allow easy (and legal) duplication for the purposes of a choir as required.
Product DetailsReviews (0)
Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranger: Mark Goddard
Brand/Publisher: Spartan Press
Instrumentation: Flexible Ensemble
Difficulty: Easy
Product Type: Set
Release Date: 2017
ISMN: 9790579983828
Edition Number: SP1382
Do not delete this link
€ 24,10
Only 4 copies remaining Usually ships in 24 hours