Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link

Corpus Cum Figuris

Item No. WH29856
Composed by – written by Poul Ruders
0 reviews
Write a review
Chamber Ensemble. product type Score Only. A product from Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Corpus Cum Figuris is a uniform composition in three major parts. The first part is a slow marche funébre , a kind of prologue with dark and sombre sounds and a massive wall of chords which leads us to the other part of the works where the static and solemn atmosphere is suddenly stopped and replaced by a rhythmic/melodic ritual which accelerates the music. In the third part the block structure is softened gradually, different figurations and stylistic elements arise to live their own lives: distant waltzes and pictures from the Middle Ages appear in this gigantic sonorous body. After a wild percussion orgy a short flash-back and a scream from the edge end Corpus cum Figuris. The piece has no literal content at all, even though the title leads the thought to Adrian Leverkühn’s Apocalipsis cum Figuris from Thomas Mann’s Doctor Faustus. More likely, my piece will arouse associations as with all my music. It has to be heard in it’s own conditions, in this case as a big body of music or perhaps as a great screen where the details, of course, are part of the whole body but at the same time are foreign and odd. It is as if one climbs a mountain and from the top of that mountain discovers a world which is completely different from expected. Corpus cum Figuris for 20 musicians was composed in 1984, commissioned by Ensemble InterContemporain and the Danish Radio. Ensemble InterContemporain world premiered the work in April 1985 conducted by Peter Eötvös. The piece was also played at the ISCM-festival in Amsterdam by Netherland Radio Chamber Orchestra conducted by Ernest Bour.
Product DetailsSonglistReviews (0)
Composer: Poul Ruders
Brand/Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Instrumentation: Chamber Ensemble
Language: DK
Product Type: Score Only
Pages: 70
ISBN: 9788759856819
Edition Number: WH29856
Do not delete this link
€ 100,60
On Order Usually ships in 10 days