Advanced Search ›
My Account
progress indicator
Adding product...
Do not delete this link


Item No. WHHH00114
Composed by – written by Kaija Saariaho
0 reviews
Write a review
Chamber Ensemble and Electronics. product type Score. A product from Edition Wilhelm Hansen
The Full Score of Kaija Saariaho's Lichtbogen For Nine Musicians and Live Electronics. The title for this work stems from the composer's experience of seeing the Northern lights whilst starting work on writing the piece, this experience also shaped the form and language of the piece. Lichtbogen was the first time Saariaho had worked with a computer in the context of purely instrumental music, this new compositional element led to harmonic material being created by analysing short transitions played with a violin and cello, starting with artificial harmonic sounds and ending up with complex multi-phonic sounds. The rhythmic elements of this piece were created using a network of computer programmes, allowing the composer to construct interpolations and transitions for different musical parameters, rhythmic interpolations created through sets of musical patterns that are repeated but each time slightly modified in character. Lichtbogen is the commission of the French ministry of culture and is dedicated to Paul Mefanc. A splendid work for Ensemble (Flute, Percussion, Harp, Piano, 2 Violins, Viola Cello, Double Bass) and Live Electronics by this inimitable Finnish composer.
Product DetailsSonglistReviews (0)
Composer: Kaija Saariaho
Brand/Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Instrumentation: Chamber Ensemble and Electronics
Language: ENG
Product Type: Score
Pages: 62
ISBN: 9788759855355
Edition Number: HH00114
Do not delete this link
€ 114,80
Available Usually ships in 2 days